A Knight Without Regrets

Written by Count Arturus. The chords are in parenthesis.

On a bitter (Am) cold night (F)
At (G7) the edge of the world (Am)
When (Am) the shouts from (F) the battle had died (Am)
A knight (Am) lay down (F)
All weary (G) and worn (Am)
With only (F) his sword (G) by his side (Am).

When out of the mist
Came a vision so fair
A maiden so stalwart and bold
Be still my Lord
And speak not a word
I’ve come (Am) to shield (E) you from cold (Am).

[Chorus]

Lay with (C) me (Em)
But break (Am) not my vows (Em)
For lovers (F) we never (C) can be (E)
I give you (Am) my warmth (G)
And I give (Am) you my heart (G)
But a virtuous (E) lady I be. (Am)

Come my love
Said the knight without pause
Your gift is a blessing to me
And sooner I’d fall
‘Neath Jerusalem’s walls
Than ruin such rare honesty.

She lay in his arms
And they spoke not a word
But kept night demons at bay
Their hearts beat as one
Til the morning had come
And their virtue still shined thru the day.

[Chorus]

One thought on “A Knight Without Regrets”

Leave a Reply

