Lyrics: Belle, Qui Tiens Ma Vie

These are the lyrics of the song Belle Qui Tiens Ma Vie, that Count Arlof performed for Her Majesty at the First Great Northeastern War.

1. Belle, qui tiens ma vie captive dans tes yeux,
Qui m’a l’âme ravie d’un souriz gracieux,
Viens tôt me secourir, ou me faudra mourir.
2. Pourquoi fuis-tu, mignarde, si je suis près de toy?
Quand tes yeux je regarde, je me perds dedans moy,
Car tes perfections changent mes actions.

5. Approche donc, ma belle, approche toy mon bien.
Ne me sois plus rebelle, puisque mon coeur est tien,
Pour mon mal appaiser, donne moy un baiser.

6. Je meurs, mon Angelette, je meurs en te baisant,
Ta bouche tant doucette, va mon bien ravissant
A ce coup mes esprits sont tout d’amour épris.

7. Plutôt on verra l’onde contre mont reculer,
Et plutôt l’œil du monde cessera de brûler,
Que l’amour qui m’époint décroisse d’un seul point.


English translation

1. Beauty, you who hold my life captive in your eyes,
Who make my soul glad with a gracious smile,
Come soon rescue me, or I shall die.

2. Why are you fleeing, sweetheart, when I am close to you,
When your eyes I look, I get lost in myself,
For you perfections change my behaviour.

5. Come my beauty, come my well being,
Don’t reject me, for my heart is yours,
To appease my pain, give me a kiss.

6. I am dying my little angel, I am dying while kissing you,
Your mouth so soft makes me feel better
Then my soul is fulfilled with love.

7. Sooner the waves against mountains shall recede,
And sooner the world’s eye shall cease to burn
Before the love exciting me shall decrease of one dot.

One thought on “Lyrics: Belle, Qui Tiens Ma Vie”

Leave a Reply

